Archive for the ‘Chess blogs’ Category

2019 Kent Oliver Memorial and MCA Annual General Meeting – February 3

Sunday, January 27th, 2019
Sunday, February 3, 2019 – University of Winnipeg Room 3L08
One day Rapid event  !
5 rounds of   Time Control – Game /  20 minutes  + 10 seconds free (Bronstein)
Registration starts at 9:30AM – First Round 10 a.m
We should be finished around 5 p.m.
Pizza Lunch (provided) and Annual General Meeting from approx 12 to 1:30between rounds 2 and 3.
Entry Fee: $ 15

C FC Membership not required, however Manitoba Chess Association(MCA) membership is required.

If you are not a CFC member  $ 5 (for one tournament)
First time players do not require MCA membership for this tournament.
The prize fund is enhanced through a generous donation from Mrs. Truus Oliver.

Source: Chess Manitoba

FIDE ratings of Manitobans having played at least one FIDE event in 2018

Wednesday, January 23rd, 2019

Please report any errors or omissions to

FIDE Ratings at January 1, 2019
  Nones, Teodulfo Ii  PHI 2246
  Wiebe, Isaac  CAN 2109
  Baron, Gustav L  CAN 2048
  Moncal, Nilo  CAN 2037
  Swift, Ryne  CAN 2004
  Babb, Jeff  CAN 1992
 Valentino, Marcos  CAN 1991
Currie, James  CAN 1975
  Wolchock, Theo  CAN 1974
  Ma, Derek  CAN 1971
Pramanik, Projjwal IND 1935
  Bince, Rolando  CAN 1891
  Cleto, Sam  CAN 1885
  Boron, Anthony  CAN 1859
  Gerona, Joshua  CAN 1844
  Konara, Harshani  SRI 1837
  Rutter, Blair  CAN 1836
  Proulx, Roy  CAN 1835
  Prince, Colin  CAN 1801
  Orogun, Ibukun  CAN 1789
  Green, Jim  CAN 1776
  Skop, Mike  CAN 1771
  Atem, James  CAN 1739
  Einarsson, Ken  CAN 1682
  Tarasoff, Shawn  CAN 1682
  Le Dorze, Phil  CAN 1672
  Letain, Cory  CAN 1644
  Myrzaibraimov, Azamat  CAN 1638
  Klokow, John  CAN 1633
  Remillard, John  CAN 1587
  Furda, Ievgeniia-Diana  UKR 1552
  Myrzaibraimova, Aibike  CAN 1527
  Trueman, Francis  CAN 1510
  Leaden, Bruce  CAN 1496
  Piche, Zachary  CAN 1463
  Gregoryanz, Philipp  CAN 1460
  Lei, Yanyu  CAN 1442
  Marshall, Carter  CAN 1383
  Magyar, Peter  CAN 1316

Source: Chess Manitoba

Cecil’s Saturday Puzzle – January 12, 2019

Tuesday, January 15th, 2019
from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to mate in 2 (Funk)
1. Qxf7

Source: Chess Manitoba

Cecil’s Saturday Puzzle – December 29, 2018

Thursday, January 3rd, 2019
from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to mate in 2 (Loyd)
1. Rg3

Source: Chess Manitoba

Cecil’s Saturday Puzzle – December 15, 2018

Monday, December 24th, 2018
from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to move and mate in 2 (Loyd)

Source: Chess Manitoba

The CFC has rated the 2018 Jack Woodbury Memorial

Thursday, December 20th, 2018

The CFC has rated the 2018 Jack Woodbury Memorial.
Please see the crosstable here.

Congratulations to the following who achieve new peak established ratings:

Isaac Wiebe  2320
Roy Proulx 1878
Azamat Myrzaibraimov 1604
Aibike Myrzaibraimova  1474
Gary Crawford 1561

Source: Chess Manitoba

2019 Manitoba Closed Qualifying Update

Friday, December 7th, 2018
2019 Manitoba Closed Championship Qualifying Update  Manitoba Closed 2019 format : 8 player Round Robin
Qualifiers -
*Players must be Manitoba Permanent residents.
(Persons  who are not citizens or permanent residents, but who have been a resident of Manitoba for a twelve-month period immediately preceding the tournament, may be admitted to the Tournament provided they can clearly demonstrate to the MCA Board of Directors that they have a settled intention to continue to reside in Manitoba. The admittance to the Tournament of such exceptions shall be entirely at the discretion of the MCA Board of Directors.)
Qualifiers must play 10 standard rated games (somewhere in the world) during calendar 2018 in order to qualify. In order of preference – if the qualifying player does not want to participate or the qualifier is redundant, we continue down the list until there are 8 willing participants.
     1. Previous Year’s Champion (ISAAC WIEBE)
     2. Winner of the Reserve (not held)
     3. MB Junior Champion (if rated above 1900)  -THEO WOLCHOCK)
     4. Top Manitoban in AY Memorial (JOJO NONES)
     5,6. Top 2 finishers in the Tournament of Champions (Jack Woodbury Memorial – to be held in Nov – Dec)  
     7. Player with the best MTPPS (Isaac Wiebe -already qualified
     8. Player with the 2nd best MTPPS (Jojo Nones – already qualified ) 
     9. 2nd Manitoban in the AY Memorial (Wiebe -already qualified, Wolchock-already qualified, RYNE SWIFT)
    10. Player with the 3rd best MTPPS  (Gustav Baron- already qualified)
    11. Player with the 4th best MTPPS  (Theo Wolchock – see above)

    12.  Player with the 5th best MTPPS (Jeff Babb )

13.  Player with the 6th best MTPPS (Derek Ma )

14.  Player with the 7th best MTPPS (Anthony Boron)
15. Player with the 8th best MTPPS (Blair Rutter)
16.  Player with the 9th best MTPPS (Rolando Bince)
The above players (in bold) will be contacted in early 2019 to determine their willingness to participate in the knockout.  If any of the players decline, invitations will be provided to next players on the list below.  Then there will be a short period when wild-card bids (as described above) will be entertained.
With One Tournament Remaining -  below are the current MTPPS scores:
MTPSS -  Modified Tournament Performance Point Score
MTPPS is calculated as follows:
A Loss = 0 points
A Draw = the rating of the opponent
A Win = the greater of [your opponent's rating + 200] or [your rating]
The top ten performance scores for each player are counted
The 2018 top MTPPS scores at this point are as follows:
(Tournaments scored included all CFC Standard rated tournaments, US standard rated tournaments, International FIDE standard rated tournaments etc.) If you believe a result has been missed or is incorrect, please contact me.


24718 10 Isaac Wiebe
23548 10 Teodulfo II Nones
23425 10 Gustav L Baron
22576 10 Theo Wolchock
22360 10 Jeff Babb
22219 10 Derek Ma
21416 10 Anthony Boron
20565 10 Blair Rutter
20422 10 Rolando Bince
20010 10 Colin Prince
19865 9 Ryne Swift
19213 10 Oyeyemi A Abioye

Source: Chess Manitoba

Cecil’s Saturday Puzzle – December 1, 2018

Wednesday, December 5th, 2018
from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to move and mate in 2 (Loyd)
1. Nh1

Source: Chess Manitoba

Ruth Haring 1955-2018

Monday, December 3rd, 2018

Ruth Haring, former US Chess President  passed away, November 29.
She was formerly married to one-time Winnipeg resident GM Peter Biyiasis.

Jeff Babb played her at the Canadian Open in 1974, and I met her in Las Vegas in 2008.

(in strange coincidence, also on that blog  page is a picture of Eric Schiller, who passed away November 3, 2018.

Source: Chess Manitoba

Cecil’s Saturday Puzzle – November 17, 2018

Thursday, November 22nd, 2018
from the Winnipeg Free Press
White to mate in 2 (Loyd)
1. Qc5

Source: Chess Manitoba