The competition will consist of two parts. The first one will be a qualification tournament in Shanghai with the participation of Hao Wang, Alexey Shirov, Levon Aronian, and Vladimir Kramnik. Two players from Shanghai will qualify for the final in Bilbao, where they will meet Magnus Carlsen and Viswanathan Anand.